(More) Katy Trail, Kansas

August 1st, 2012: We took a break along the trail.

And called big brother Butch to check in. I was feeling overwhelmed and ready to come home but I didn’t want to disappoint Skip who has been so nice to me my whole life. His wife had made it clear that if I came home, he had to too. We all agreed that if I was that strung out, it was time to come home. I felt relief… and sadness… and thankfulness that none of my brothers accused me of being a wimp!

Skip along the shores of the Missouri. It was oh so hot but the river was oh so dirty so we didn’t jump in.

Categories: Uncategorized | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “(More) Katy Trail, Kansas

  1. Gary Levine

    Skip, Molly keep going!!!!

    Gpop

  2. Ah, but if they come home, Molly gets to come be with us to celebrate Mom/Granny/Aunt Jo’s 100th birthday on that little island in the Adirondacks, and she gets a free maple walnut ice cream cone!

  3. Linda Chandlee

    Molly, you and Skip are the bravest people I know. Whatever you decide you rock, my friend.

  4. Sarah Gearhart

    Oh, I’m sorry Kansas turned out to be the most “adventurous” part of your trip. But I’m glad you made it. I’ve actually been to Dodge City and Hays, where I met some of the strangest characters in my life.
    Make it home safely, whatever you decide–Love Sarah

  5. Johanna Nichols

    You are the best!

  6. Mary McGuire

    Here here – whatever your decision, your accomplishment thus far is tremendous! You’ve landed in my
    hero land.

  7. We sure have been enjoying your journey, your joys and hardships. Thanks for all the postings and pics! Remember us … in Wyoming, in the truck camper? You taught us how to fix your tire on the side of the road (after Jeffrey City). Say hello to Skip, Butch and his wife too! See ya later on the blogscape …

  8. Walt Deverell

    Keep your head held high, Molly. Whether you continue the journey or end it in Kansas, Skip and you have had an adventure of a lifetime. We have all, in spirit, been with you in both the good times and the tough times (spiders, rogue trucks, crushing heat). There’s a quote from Teddy Roosevelt that has helped me in rough spots: “It’s not the critic that counts, nor the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or that the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust, and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly, who errs and comes short again and again because there is no effort without errors and shortcomings.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

